IRF Logo IRF World Championships
Recordbooks: World Champions | Seniors | Juniors

The International Racquetball Federation [then the International Amateur Racquetball Federation/IARF] held its first World Congress and its first World Championships in 1981, attracting full teams from six countries. Worldwide growth has continued to be steady with attendance increasing at each successive World Championship.

From 1984 in Sacramento, California, with 13 countries in attendance; the event has grown to over 40 countries across six continents competing in 2000. Racquetball made its debut as a full medal sport at the 1995 Pan-American Games in Buenos Aires, Argentina.

Purpose:  To determine the strongest national racquetball team in the world, as well as name individual world titlists in singles and doubles.
Established: 1981
Frequency: Bi-annual (In August)
Entrants: 400 
Awards: Gold, Silver, Bronze, Consolation awards in championship divisions, plus an overall World Championship team award.
  Rules & Eligibility
Conditions: IRF rules govern, including mandatory protective eyewear requirement.
Eligibility: Entrants must be members of a recognized national team from countries affiliated with the International Racquetball Federation.
Judging: Preliminary competition conducted in a round robin format to determine seeding positions and team championship, followed by single elimination championship rounds for individual titles.
  More Information
Results: For in-depth, current results, go to RACQUETBALL | "Event Coverage"
Entry Form: National Team members only
2002 (XI) San Juan, Puerto Rico
2000 (X) San Luis Potosi, Mexico
1998 (IX) Cochabamba, Bolivia
1996 (VIII) Phoenix, Arizona
1994 (VII San Luis Potosi, Mexico
1992 (VI) Montreal, Canada
1990 (V) Caracas, Venezuela
1988 (IV) Hamburg, Germany
1986 (III Orlando, Florida/USA
1984 (II) Sacramento, California/USA;
1981 (I)  Santa Clara, California/USA

Top of Document | USRA Homepage
Racquetball magazine
© All website contents are copyright USRA -- All Rights Reserved